The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Where Severn seeks the sea

The glorious sunshine this morning lured us out to Coaley Peak viewpoint, on the Cotswold escarpment,to blow away the cobwebs. In fact the wind was so strong that it soon gave me earache and toothache, so I had to retire to the car, surprised at my neshness. I did manage to take this shot of a little farm down on the plain, with tiny sheep just visible.

CleanSteve has written about the topography of the area. I had meant to blip a shot I took with the 50D, but it would be too similar to the one he has posted. The light was strong, with deep shadows, but continually changing. The silver- grey ribbon in the background of this shot is the river Severn, with the hills of Wales beyond.

We revived ourselves with coffee at Prema arts centre in the village of Uley, and then headed home via the villages of Nympsfield and Forest Green. We passed the Southport FC team arriving to play a fixture against Forest Green Rovers, our local team. As part of the expansion of the FGR ground, a spanking new community centre has been built, so we popped in to have a look. Clean and bright was my verdict.

The football team was bought by Dale Vince, our local ecotricity company founder, but he has angered some fans by making the restaurant and catering facilities vegetarian. I guess they'd have been more dismayed if the club closed down...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.