The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

We couldn't find them...

We drove over to Gloucester today to meet cowgirl and Sav in the docks area. Not for an illicit assignment: the area has been renvoated! I've blipped it before. The light was terrible, though, and the wind whipping up a gale. Outside the Warehouse climbing centre, CleanSteve blipped me and Leah wearing full facegear against the cold! It seems I cannot book myself onto a learn climbing course until May. Ah well...

We toured Gloucester cathedral, which is truly spectacular, and joined up with Leah and Sav's old friends from the Midlands, who happened to be in Gloucester, too. Lunch turned out to be accompanied by a karaoke machine in the Dick Whittington pub! Our unaccompanied rendition of Bat out of Hell was particularly moving.

Then we took a quick trip to the ruins of St Oswald's priory, because I wanted to see where Aethelflad, the daughter of King Alfred the Great, was buried. Turns out it was somewhere near B&Q! I daresay the priory was not so surrounded by traffic and industry in her time. Aethelflad was responsible for the rebuilding of Gloucester (no, I don't mean the post-war monstrosities in the city centre).

However, this curious street name is my blipchoice of today, because it cracked me up even more than the pub singing. I don't know what is up with the putti/cherubs but one of them appears to be armless, and the other giving birth to something with tentacles. View in large if you dare

PS I have discovered that the name comes from a former inn located here. There is a mosaic on the pavement showing three cocks, you know, the kind with tails and beaks and feathers.

Here's another curious name from a blipper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.