From the Caribbean to a care home

Today has been something of a reality check: last Sunday afternoon I was in Barbados admiring Russian billionaire Roman Abramovich’s private yacht parked alongside our cruise ship in the harbour.
This afternoon has been spent visiting my 90- year old friend in an old folks home where she has been sent for respite care, as a result of a fire in her home.

Most of the other residents have Alzheimer’s and are ten years younger than her.

As these places go this one comes with glowing credentials.
Still it’s not a place you would opt to go and I have nothing but admiration for the staff that work there.

I had hoped to get a photo of a member of staff but they all refused so I am afraid it’s another one of The Trossachs.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.