Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Russia comes to Cumbernauld

On the day that the Sochi 2014 Winter Olympics came to a close I came across the unexpected sight of a Russian flag flying in the back garden of a house in Cumbernauld.

Having been at church this morning I only had about an hour in the house (during which time I managed to watch Team Canada's men win hockey gold - yay!) before heading off to a meeting in the afternoon. That didn't finish until after 4.30pm, so I was struggling to think of something to put in my photo journal for the day. However, since I was in Cumbernauld, I thought I'd go for a walk in Cumbernauld Community Park and see what came up.

Within a few minutes I came across this totally unexpected sight and my mission was complete almost before it started. Went for a wee walk along some of the paths anyway, but it was a grey day and getting dark so retraced my steps back to the car. Job done, and not in a way I had imagined. Result!

(I have given the photo a general location in the Park rather than identify the houses pictured.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.