An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Re-visiting an Old Friend...

Well an old camera :))

Last night I was looking through some of my old photos and started to think that I took better macro shots with my wee Olympus E-450 DSLR than I do with my Canon 60D.

So after I got the mundane stuff out of the way this morning, I looked out my wee Olympus (David bought it for my Christmas in 2010. It’s the camera that got me started taking “proper” and I use that term loosely! photos, as opposed to just snaps of family and friends) and set about taking some macro shots to see if my hunch was right.

It didn’t take me too long to work out how to use it again and when I did, I was struck by how simple it is to operate yet I remember so clearly how complicated I found it at the start and how impenetrable I found the instruction manual.

I was also amazed at how light it is compared to my Canon and I wonder if that’s one reason as to why I may have taken better shots with it. Maybe I was able to spend longer perfecting a macro shot as my hands didn’t ache quite so much when using it?

Anyhoo, there I was, all fired up and ready to go. Got into the garden and 3 shots in, the battery died. Merde. And for some reason the exif data is saying today's photos were taken on 20th November 1999. Double merde.

Its battery is now merrily charging but I’ve run out of camera time for today so having to post one of the 3 shots that were really just throwaway test shots. Never mind, it will give me something to compare it to tomorrow when the battery is fully charged and I am hopefully on form.

Monday almost over peeps.....hang in there! :)

PS hahahahaha.....just looked again at some of the macro shots I was looking at last night and they were actually taken with the Canon. Silly cow. Should have checked the exif data rather than relying on remembering when I bought the Canon! Still, I'm looking forward to having a proper shot of the Olympus again. A change is as good as a rest :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.