An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Olympus v Canon Day 1...

As mentioned yesterday, I’ve been pondering whether I feel I took better macro shots with my Olympus E-450 camera and macro lens than with my Canon 60D and macro lens.

I think I probably answered my own question yesterday when I realised the macro shots I particularly like and that I thought I’d taken with the Olympus, were actually taken with the Canon but in the interests of fun scientific research, over the next few days I am going to take similar shots with both cameras and compare the shots SOOC, no processing.

In the interests of fairness, I suppose both shots should be taken using the same settings on each camera, but today I thought I would not worry about settings and just take shots that I liked the look of in the viewfinder and adjust settings as necessary. Actually I may continue to do that as it's all about the end result and not about the process.

And today’s blip is the result of this morning's efforts. Rather rushed as it was cold and the kettle was on (you can tell where my priorities lie :) Anyhoo, can you tell which camera took which shot? Answer at the end.

In other, much more exciting news, Alan did something absolutely amazing at school yesterday……he ate all of his lunch for his school helper! And I mean proper food (mac cheese) not just chocolate buttons!

For those who know my journal, you will know how momentous this is. Alan is very particular who he will eat for and it's one of the reasons I can't be away from him longer than 24 hours. He just won't eat all his meals for anyone else. And he has never eaten a proper lunch in school, ever!

Since the start of the year, Lesley his lunchtime assistant and I have been working hard putting strategies in place to create success, starting with me having a conversation with him acknowledging his anxieties around eating at school and for other people. This conversation led me to write a letter to Lesley detailing what made Alan anxious and what she could do to help him relax enough to enjoy lunch. Alan was fully involved in helping word the content of the letter and it resulted in a list of things he would like Lesley to go over with him at lunch time.

Some of the things he wanted was to be able to choose where he eats lunch (he finds the dining room very distracting with all the noise and bizz) so he’s chosen the Home Economics room, and whether he wants Lesley to chat to him or keep quiet. And now after weeks of sending lunch in only for it to come home untouched, he’s finally decided to eat it! I asked him this morning if he was going to eat lunch again today and got a definite yes! Yay! Happy Mum!

Next step is to get him to agree to do the same exercise in relation to Marion and Ed so we can get him eating proper food at home for other people as when that happens, David and I will finally, after 17 years, manage to get away for a weekend on our own. It’s our Silver Wedding Anniversary in August so there’s our incentive!


PS You may be wondering why we didn’t try this strategy of asking him before but he just wouldn’t have entertained the conversation.

PPS The Canon shot is on the left and the Olympus on the right.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.