Victorian cross

The sun was shining today, but I was a busy bee and didn't make it out of the neighbourhood. Instead, I raked the leaves in the garden. Vic and Bob, the compost rats, weren't impressed when I piled some wet leaves on their nest. I reminded them that the purpose of the compost heap was not to provide a nest for rats.

I then went into West Norwood and wandered around the cemetery. Along the Ship's Path, this cross caught my eye. Perhaps someone had just cleared it of ivy because I haven't noticed the unusual flower decoration before. The family grave of Hunt from Dulwich is from the 1890s.

Between wee bits of work, I made my first pumpkin pie. Then I made a second because it soon became clear that my prebaked pastry case was half as big as it should be. However, two pumpkin pies are not a problem - Fred and I have almost demolished the first already. It's very tasty indeed.

Recipe:
Pastry:
200g/8oz plain flour, sifted
125g/5oz unsalted butter, cut into small pieces
ice-cold water
(I needed twice the amount for the filling below, but I may have left my pastry a little thick because I'm a bit of a coward regarding thin pastry)

The filling:
750g/1.5 lb pumpkin, peeled
350g/12oz caster sugar or soft pale brown sugar (I did half brown caster sugar and half soft dark brown sugar)
6 eggs, yolks and whites separated
good pinch of cinnamon
pinch of freshly grated nutmeg
4 cardamom pods, seeds removed and pounded using a pestle and mortar
175ml/7 fl oz double cream
1 tsp cornflour

Method for the pastry:
Place the sugar, butter and flour in a bowl and working lightly with your fingers until the mixture turns to fine crumbs. Bring the pastry together by adding a little ice-cold water. Set aside in the fridge for about 20 minutes. Preheat the oven to 200C/400F/gas 6. Roll out pastry and line a 28cm/11in round, loose-based tart tin, reserving a small amount of pastry to patch up any cracks that may appear after it has been first baked. Prick all over with a fork and bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes or until pale gold. Allow the pastry case to cool.

Method for the filling:
Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/gas 4.
Cut the peeled pumpkin into 2.5cm/1 in chunks and steam for 10 minutes, or until tender. (Don't let the water evaporate to the point where you smell a strange burning smell and realize too late the the pan has turned from silver grey to black, oozing brown stuff.)
Place the sugar, egg yolks and spices in a bowl and mix well. Blend the pumpkin in a liquidizer or mash it with a potato masher until smooth, then add the cream and melted butter. Whisk the egg whites with the cornflour until stiff and carefully fold into the pumpkin and sugar, egg yolks and spices. Pour into the pastry case and bake in the preheated oven for 50 minutes. Serve, hot, warm or cold. Nice with ice-cream.

Thank you Cranks cookbook!

Rodents spotted on blip today:
Sassy has a snack


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.