WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Where there's smoke

As I went out with the dog this afternoon, I wasn't feeling hugely energetic so thought I'd stick to the local lanes.  Drifting across the side of the moor (where I wasn't going today), I spotted smoke.

My lungs were feeling a little like I've had a lifetime of smoking so I was planning to keep clear of ascents.  

However, curiosity got the better of me and I took a slow and steady upward path onto the moor.  Where the smoke stopped.  Grrrr!  A few minutes later, I spotted a little swirl but way over to one side.  If I were to find it, I had to go to my regular high point.  Onwards and upwards.

It wasn't until I was on my way down that I spotted the source which I had hoped would be heather burning.  Last year, I saw this from a distance but it was fascinating today to see it relatively close.

This looks like it might be an emergency but they did seem to have everything under control.  Or as under control as fast burning dry twigs can be (note the heat haze over the smoke)!

Apparently, they wait until the moorland is wet and the heather is dry before burning small sections in rotation.  This prevents the heather becoming lank and rejuvenates the nutritional value of the heather for the birds and sheep.  

The heather seed on the ground has been shocked into re-growth - which may be a similar thing to parsley seeds which grow better from seed if you douse them in boiling water first.  

I assume, but don't know for sure, that it's mainly for the grouse shooting rather than the upkeep of sheep.

A mine moor of information today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.