The Big Ant Tree

I keep noticing this tree because it looks really weird from a distance. Today I went up close and realised that half of the trunk of the tree and parts of its branches are quite dead and are hosting a huge colony of ants. The tree has continuted to grow around the dead parts making it look very odd indeed. It has almost a full head of leaves above, and you can see a new sprout here too. Ants and trees, working together!

A little bit more info about yesterday's blip. What I thought was the bagworm moth crawling along is actually the bagworm worm, or more accurately the bagworm caterpillar, the moth comes later!

They are of the Psychidae family and there are many different types from many parts of the world, and they are really fascinating creatures! Here I was thinking this was a rare Australian! :0)

I found this little bit of footage of another type of bag worm, but it was doing exactly what I had seen one doing yesterday in that it was poking its head and some legs out of its bag and crawling along dragging the bag, amazing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.