Big Bag Moth Bonanza

Today must have been the big day for these creatures to leave their little handmade homes and venture out into the world. I have never seen this before!

I blipped one of these a while back stuck on a wall, but at the time I never noticed that there were also a lot living in the bushes.

I first saw one this morning crawling across the carpark with its stick home still on its back. I could only see part of its head and legs and I watched it as it stumbled into the weeds and disappeared. At morning tea time 'tree inspection' for Toto :) I saw another two!!

The day got very busy and I forgot about them until after work when I headed back out there and saw quite a few squashed ones on the road, but also found a few empty ones to add to my treasure and saw one live one still in the bush moving around!

They just disappear when they are in the bush as its the same bush that they have made their homes from, really amazing! The mono shot seems to emphasise the detail more than the coloured shot did, plus they are on a red tablecloth which just didnt work at all!

I will keep my eye on them over the next few days because I would really like to see what this moth actually looks like out of his fantastic bag! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.