Ma and Pa

oof - that took a long time to upload!
Anyway, I've been hurtling around today and suddenly realised no blip and it's now dark and drizzling - a good day to take part in Aynil's challenge, inspired by Gitama , to blip a pic of our parents' wedding. So here are mine - Anne and David, getting married in April 1951 at St Margaret's Westminster. He was 27 and she was 22 and they were together for 46 years. It was a bit of a whirlwind romance by all accounts, as they met and then he was heading off to India to do a spot of tea planting. He asked her to accompany him as his wife and she agreed. They honeymooned in Devon then David sailed off to Darjeeling, Anne following a few weeks later. One thing she always secretly regreted I think, was that she had never completed her nursing training - she just had a few months to go, but once married you were not allowed to continue. They had their up and downs but were always kind and respectful towards each other, both strong characters in their ways, but I'd say they were pretty content on the whole. Lots of emotions when I look at this - they look so young and yet I suspect they didn't really change. It's still feels sad that they're no longer here but I know I was very lucky to have them as my parents for I was treasured.
Only a lighter note - Jeremy, the page was clearly less than impressed with the whole proceedings and who can blame him, in that rig-out!

Speed review for last night's film:
Gloria - very slow, very intimate, a bit boring, lots of (senior) sex, and all I could think of was that she looked like Dustin Hoffman in Tootsie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.