McZoo

By McZoo

Work Day

I let my sweet, hard working husband sleep in this morning by taking the dogs out into the living room with me and drawing the curtains so the early morning light didn't wake him. The peaceful alone time allowed me the opportunity to tap into my creative juices and just write. Sometimes it feels so good to be able to write and read for pure enjoyment. I don't feel like I get to do it often enough. I also feel like emptying some of my thoughts onto paper allowed me to focus on the writing that I had to get done. I managed to edit my personal statement and send it to my mother for a grammar check today.

When he woke up, he wanted to start work on the fence to enclose our raised garden beds, since we are hoping to start planting soon. We measured out the distance between the poles. He dug all the holes. Then we went to Home Depot to purchase Quikcrete and the necessary tools to mix it. We ended up running into one of his former co-workers who is working at our local store. It was funny watching them joke while we searched the store for a mixing paddle. I helped with a few things (like measuring the distance between poles and carrying concrete sacks). I then had to make a quick run back to Home Depot for 3 additional bags of the stuff. Which turned out to be kind of hilarious. The bottom shelf's pallet of concrete was empty so I reached for a bag on the shelf above my head. As I pulled it towards me, the contents of the bag above it funneled down in directly into my face. I ate it. I inhaled it. And I wore it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.