Stroud town - view of Cheapside from Rodborough

Lots of photography related work to do today. I have been asked to take a portrait of a friend tomorrow which she can use for her portfolio and a magazine article coming out soon. Today the head of the local Textile Trust confirmed that they want to use about a dozen of the pictures I took of Longford's Mill, which they want to convert into a centre for all their activities.

Today I drove to Nailsworth to pick up Helena and on the way home we drove to check out potential viewpoints for a panoramic record of part of Stroud. I want to get a view showing the Cheapside area on the south of the town centre, which will be the main item on the agenda of the town council's meeting next Monday. We walked about along various streets, down hillsides, through old orchards and across playing fields next to allotments. Finally a woman noticed me staring into the distance and wondered if she could help. When I explained my search for a possible view across rooftops and lines of trees, Amy kindly offered to let us into her kitchen which had just such a view.

In the end I found this view across the back gardens and fields a bit higher up the hillside along the old lane called Butterow West. It doesn't show all the sites clearly but does gibve thje overall impression so will do for the meeting. I thought you fellow blippers might like to see Stroud looking north towards Painswick and its valley in the distance. Our house is set a few hundred yards to the right of this view on the far hillside. I often show pictures looking towards this place so i am gradually covering all angles in my blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.