Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Back off, Dude!!

No wings today, although I was tempted. Instead, I am going with this shot which shows one of the two male red-bellied woodpeckers showing some of his New Jersey attitude towards the interloper starlings. I'm proud of the boy. Frankly, the starlings are not particularly welcome visitors at the feeders. They are pushy, loud, and pretty rude to everyone. Not to mention they can devour suet almost as fast as a black bear. (And, yes, I know exactly how fast a black bear can dispense with a suet cake - don't ask.)

I posted six other shots from today starting HERE on Flickr - a shot of Mama Red-Belly defending the feeder and five in-flight shots, including one of two juncos having an aerial battle. And for those of you who may have a soft heart, here's a shot of House finch male, wooing his lady-love . I debated whether to blip this or the woodpecker - went with the woodpecker, but this was a close second.

I am happy to report that Big Daddy is back and looking quite spiffy. All the broken stuff is fixed and he's had a good cleaning up, oil, and lube. I am planning an outing with a couple of birder friends tomorrow and hope to give him a proper workout. Not to mention that I need to get out and get some exercise. This winter has been brutal with all the snow and ice and I'm definitely in a funk from being cooped up inside for what seems like forever. I've got my brand new snow-cleats, hand warmers, and Big Daddy - there's nothing I can't do!

Happy Friday, people.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.