such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Evening Sun.

My sister and I walked down to the beach this evening. I'd just happened to take my camera with me and I'm so glad I did. It's the first time that I've used my new 55-250 mm lens down the beach and I had hoped to get some close ups of the seagulls, but there wasn't quite enough background light to take silhouettes nor enough light to get their colours - so I took photos of my sister instead.

I had a piano lesson this morning which was a nice way to wake up after last night's adventure (this is where I would insert a link back to yesterday's blip but can't because I've only recently joined) - I ended up playing Mozart's Sonata in D for two pianos on a very lovely, period keyboard (A square piano from around 1760). My teacher owns a collection of pianos dating back to the 18th Century as well as organs and keyboards dating from even further back. She's always very keen that I should play them, but I never seem to play very many suitable pieces -Shostakovich would probably ruin a clavichord. As well as the Mozart, I also ended up playing the first movement from Beethoven's Sonata in C minor on a larger, Pullman piano - the alto range on the keyboard really makes the piece self-explanatory, which in turns makes it easier for me to play, so I suppose it was a worthwhile exercise.

I really ought to crack on with my homework aswell. Weekends are never productive for me and television always seems to win. If only I could get an a level in procrastination...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.