such, such were the joys.

By Chaps100

Violin Problems

So today I've been practising the Capriccio Espagnol; it's been a long day. As lead of my orchestra I get the lovely task of doing the solos - which will be lovely if I arrive at the concert being able to play it (it's been nearly two months since I got the part and I've only just started to look at it). Seeing as the concert's in six weeks, I thought I'd better start practising.

It's an absolute fantastic piece of orchestral writing; especially as Rimsky-Korsakov was a Russian I find it astonishing how he could write a piece about Spain far better than any other Spanish composers (I'm not a huge fan of either Albeniz nor Falla, so I'm not sure whether I'm being slightly biased - but I'm sure there are others who share my opinion).

I think my main problem with trying to practise this is that I don't feel nearly 'spanish-y' enough. As a typical member of the English population, I much prefer Mozart or something where I don't have move out of my comfort zone. This links back to my dislike of Falla; I've played a few of the movements from his Symphonie Espagnole and I didn't really feel like I was paying more attention to style than when I played Bruch (which felt like a shame).

Anyway enough about music. In other news I read at church this morning; last Sunday before Lent. This meant that it was packed with young families trying to get their yearly trip to church in before Easter. People like this really annoy me. I'm in no way a fully committed Catholic, but in my opinion, you can't call yourself religious if you only go to church to convince others. Rant over.

I'm not looking forwards to tomorrow morning, but I get to come home before lunch tomorrow - which should hopefully mean that I can get in a bit more violin practice before starting my homework. Joys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.