carliewired

By carliewired

Not a Daffodil

Not gold or yellow
but scarlet and exotic
designed to seduce

~ carliewired

I knew there was no point in looking for a daffodil to photograph today. It is the desert I'm living in. Even landscaped borders don't oblige one spring flowers as one might expect back home. So, in honour of St. David's Day today, I offer this red, luscious hibiscus and hope it carries the intent.

I am thinking of my Welsh friends who will be enjoying their daffys and Welsh cakes. It's a day to think back to all that loveliness that was Wales to me.
Dydd Gwyl Dewi Hapus i

Here in Arizona, the hibiscus is commonplace in landscaping. It does well here. This blossom, about 6 inches across, is typical of what we find in public spaces. It is noted to attract butterflies, bees and hummingbirds. In Mexico, the flowers are made into agua de jamaica. Sometimes we see it in cartons in our local grocery store in the Hispanic section.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.