WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Lighthouse

I'm not sure how much practical use this is to shipping. It's set back from the bit of the river I blipped on Tuesday, where the only traffic is the odd small boat and (today) a river cruiser carrying tourists. The land here moves about and reshapes itself so much that they have resorted to lighthouses that can easily be moved around, which can't help when you are consulting charts.

S went off on an all-day walk with a local walking group from Tortosa today (it's 7 pm and he's still not back -- he's just called to say they got lost, which seems to negate the benefit of going walking with locals). I stayed here and went on a couple of bike rides along the track behind the dunes. I was hoping to birdwatch, but the large gang of people next to the hide, firing shotguns at anything that flew, was not conducive to this activity. Also, while I was trying to avoid one of their vehicles which suddenly appeared round a corner where I was not expecting to see traffic, my front wheel hit a rock and I fell off. My camera bag kindly broke my fall, and luckily the camera is intact.

It was a lovely spring day, anyway. At lunchtime I had a beer and a tapa at the chiringuito, enjoying the fresh air. Dunes, blue sky, fluffy white clouds, a slight breeze, birds twittering, the leaves coming out on the trees, a book to read -- it was lovely. The book is Angela Thirkell's High Rising, a birthday present -- a silly bit of trivia which is just the thing for light holiday reading.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.