WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Miss Otis Egret

A quiet working day today. It was another sunny day, so I walked up the track to the hide again to see what I could see. Combi31 has nothing to fear from me, none of my lenses are long enough, but I think birdwatching must be a bit like fishing. You can easily lose track of time contemplating the activity on the lagoon, not even necessarily taking photos but just watching and hoping something is going to fly close enough to actually get a blip.

I found a little jetty with some boats tied up, and here a kingfisher flew out almost from under my feet. Later I saw two more, plus a couple of herons, the ever present flamingos, and a whole lot of other unidentified birds. Also a notice about hunting, saying it was an integral part of the ecology of the area. Next to it, a bin full of the hunters' lunchtime rubbish. What they couldn't fit in they'd just thrown on the ground beside it -- heaven forbid that they should take it home.

Anyway, I am pretty sure this is a Little Egret, and it's the only more or less sharp photo I managed to take.

Miss Otis Regrets

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.