WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Raymond (avec un accent Francais!)

We're staying in a catered chalet which is new for us and makes a lovely change from having to think about cooking for 15 people given I get anxious cooking for four!  

Last night, around the dinner table, there were many laughs as there are a few real characters on the trip.  Ellie and Ray being two of them ensured we had tears rolling down our cheeks as they recounted a story or two.

One of them was a number of years back...  Getting fed up with Ray's drink-induced snoring,  Ellie crept downstairs, donned her shoes, ventured out into the garden, collected the peg bag, tiptoed back upstairs (where Ray was still in decibel heaven) and proceeded to delicately fix a large number of pegs around Ray's face and ears... obviously avoiding the nose so as not to wake him up.  He slept like that all night.  The story of the morning was another chapter.  I won't continue - you had to be there - but it was funny!

We delighted in beautiful snow conditions this morning after pisted slopes of fresh snow from yesterday's blizzards.  The light became gradually worse and we ended up in thick fog this afternoon which was quite eerie but much better to ski on than yesterday as there were barely any moguls developing.

We finished earlier than yesterday as the fog wasn't shifting and instead made our way down the valley to the bar where we met Raymond.  Why it was easier to request a photo and explain about Blip in my broken French, I don't know but it was.

Raymond coyly agreed to having his photo taken and told me that he had been working at this bar for 10 years.  He makes a great cafe au lait and a fine chocolat chaud!

Aside:  I was going to add some keywords to a few photos I added to Alamy dating back to January and discovered... I've sold my second photo!  This time it's $55 (a lovely little bonus which I've already spent on expensive hot chocolates on the slopes!)  That's given me an incentive to get my keywords done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.