The fawn again

This is one of the smallest deer in the park right now, and the regular walkers are keeping tabs on it because of its size. They come to the park with apples and dried corn kernels to supplement its diet. I blipped it recently and hope I have more opportunities to blip it, but our fear is that it won't survive when the weather gets really cold. And then there are the coyotes...so we worry about the little deer. It would be nice if one of the many does would adopt it...take it under her wing so to speak, but that hasn't happened. Apparently does aren't inclined to adopt an orphaned baby, no matter how cute it is. They are more inclined to appear and help themselves when we put down food for the fawn. I think there is a lesson in this for us humans, if we stop to think about it.

After two dismal days, the sun came out this morning, and it was beautiful. Unfortunately the blue skies didn't last. By noon, the clouds had closed in, and when I went stairwalking this afternoon at 4 pm, it was already dusk. That's November I guess. But I'm not complaining. I'm just thankful for our beautiful park and thankful that I can get out there for a walk every day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.