No Way Out

Another night of gales last night led to the Kaituna River brimming over its banks today, meaning my commute was stopped sharply in its tracks further down the valley.

You might be able to see here but the flood waters extended all the way to the bend by the vineyard, and although I have a truck, I didn't fancy risking getting stuck in the flow. Making my way to this point I passed fallen trees that had been caught in the waters and the sight of the river splashing over bridges.

By my reckoning - also based on the amount of water that made its way into our own garden thanks to the white water breaking through the fence - the water level was up at least 1.5 metres from it's regular point. Before the gales hit the river flow was sitting below 1 cumec (cubic metre per second) but at its height the flow was at 43 cumecs. With over 250mm of rain falling on the hills behind us over 48 hours, it's hardly surprising!

Luckily the gales seem to have passed us now, so with any luck I'll be back in the office tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.