Short Stay

Today, I started inpatient pediatrics and was assigned to the short stay team for the first week. Short stay is kind of like this hospital's version of an observation unit. They keep patients with a set list of diagnoses that should be able to go home in 24-48 hours. Today we saw seizures, asthma, and pneumonia. We had lunch at Camelot Court (cool name right?). We worked on presentations and had lectures on electrolytes and fluid replacement and reading chest x-rays. The physician we were with is very nice and an excellent teacher. Everyone seems to be really invested in our learning experience, so this should be an amazing rotation. New doctor tomorrow, so hopefully an equally positive experience.

I took a bunch of pictures of the hospital and some of the decorations and opportunities they provide - part of my ongoing fascination with the design of children's hospitals. However, my picture choices today came down to food. My husband would have chosen to showcase his bacon, spinach and tomato sandwich, in which a bacon lattice structure forms your bread. However, I decided to show you my breakfast. I was SO excited when we found these muffins at Sprouts. They are Paleo friendly! I've been looking for something more substantial that I can easily take for breakfast, so this was perfect. They are very spongy in texture but taste of berries and citrus. Perfect with hot English breakfast tea with milk and honey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.