Typically Texas

So today when I pulled into the parking lot at the children's hospital, this is what I saw. Although this is in the middle of a major city, this is not at all an abnormal site in Texas. I don't particularly agree with having a dog ride in the truck bed or leaving them there while you are gone for awhile, but it was so typical Texas that I had to photograph it.

Today was amazing! I love these attendings. Today we saw lots of asthma, seizures, pneumonia and a possible sepsis (my patient). This physician teaches by "pimping", asking a ton of questions. However, his questions are very clinically relevant and are geared towards making you think like a physician. He wants you to commit to a decision. In the middle of particularly grueling sessions your brain feels like it is running in overdrive, but then something just clicks. Instantaneously you know what he wants you to consider and decide to do.

Side note: I did a pretty good job reading this chest x-ray. Refreshers on systematic reading of radiology images are always good. I wish I had been doing more of this throughout.

Typical Texas Occurrences (this week):
1) Trucks (everywhere)
2) Heelers (in trucks)
3) Sweet Tea (at all restaurants)
4) Rapid weather reversal (sunny and beautiful to icy overnight)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.