A Book at bedtime

It's World Book Day and I'm missing not being in school in my jimjams, drinking hot chocolate and reading books for that was the tradition. However - I have been invited into another school tomorrow for an hour to 'get them to like reading' and to read stories. I can do that. Except, I only have half an hour in the small room, and half an hour in the big room - by the time we've had a chat time will be up.I bought two big bags of chocolate bunnies in Aldi (incredibly cheap, I was astonished) on the way back from Cork yesterday but have just realised that giving them out is probably not a good move as it's Lent. I will keep them hidden and seek advice.
Another busy day - catching up, cleaning, and then over another mountain to catch up with my ex-collegues. The weather still horrendous but the chat was mighty! They've just survived an inspection and the vomiting and diarrhoea bug is upon them - one child sent in feeling not too good having been up all night, but thoughtfully armed with wet wipes and spare trousers!! His mum had to go to work.
In honour of World Book Day, this is just a few of the books on my side of the bed. I've just completed An Officer and a Spy by Robert Harris. It's not a book I would have chosen and was lent it by a friend but I thoroughly enjoyed it. It's about the Dreyfus affair in the late 1890s in France, when Dreyfus was falsely accused of being a traitor and sent to live on Devil's Island, and the gentleman in question believed him innocent and fought to prove it. I'm just re-reading The Little Friend - complex, layered and erudite.

By the way, the film The Selfish Giant was extraordinary. Harrowing, bleak but witha glimmer of redemption at the end. The two young lads playing the main parts were amazing. A stark and unflinching look at another world. Recommended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.