happy birthday to Steven!

It's the little things . . . . the magic is in being together.

Yesterday was my hubby's birthday . . . he is getting to be an old man at 58, don't you think? Although, he doesn't look like an old man (see above) and he doesn't act like an old man, except for an occasional nap!

He loves Harry Potter books and movies, in fact we spent the evening watching Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban . . . almost too scary for me! The movies only get scarier as they go along so we'll see how I do as they get put in the cue : o } Steven has watched all of the movies and read all of the books already. This is the second time round for him, he is an avid reader. I think he is already on the book, The Goblet of Fire , 4th in the series. I have partaken in just some of the books and movies . . . . they are very imaginative and very clever. They certainly don't seem like kids books to me!

Well besides having his favorite dinner of baked salmon with panko bread crumbs, baked potato and steamed asparagus which he made himself :) we did not do anything really special for his special day. I gave him a comical card that was store bought, but I could not resist it -too perfect for him! We decided awhile ago gifts on birthdays for each other were not needed. A card, maybe something hand made . . . . .

Which leads to my blip! I wanted to make something for Steven because he always loves to receive art from me as a gift and I wanted to do something more than just a card this year. I started with a black canvas because I had a feeling Steven would like this. He did, he loved it! I chose an old map, found some handmade papers, rubber stamps and printed out a recent photo of us together at Lucas Boatworks -it was my blip a few days ago! Then I just started ripping & tearing, stamping on tissue paper, trying out placement and used matte medium to glue everything down. I was happy when I was done with how it looked and Steven was so surprised when I gave it to him, all wrapped up before dinner. He admired it a lot and told me how much he liked it . . . I was very pleased! Happy Birthday Steven!

I liked this quote by Sirius Black from the movie, it made me think of my dad especially . . . [Sirius says to Harry] Besides, the ones that love us never really leave us. You can always find them... [puts hand over Harry's heart] in here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.