Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

War memorial

I got up in Canberra today and heard on Facebook about the War Memorial. Not too far to walk so I figured I'd head along, get a photo and leave. I was mistaken. Ended up spending about 4 hours at one of the best museums I have ever been to.
Really well done, with halls and presentations on every conflict Australian military forces have been involved in, from Kokoda Trail to Gallipoli to South Africa to Afghanistan.

In the evening I had dinner with one of my cousins and his family. They had a new 1 week old, as well as two other kids who I'd not met before, so it was great to see them all.

Back at the hostel our dorm room had one of those great far ranging conversations about all sorts of wild ideas and theories, definitely something you don't get from just hotels. Also booked my hostel for Portland WDS in July, so plans are being set in motion nicely.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.