"The Lark Ascending"

I was out and about early to collect my car, that had been locked into Fishers Green nature reserve overnight, and decided to go hare hunting at Lodge Farm.

As soon as I got out of the S I could hear the song of many skylarks. It is such an uplifting, almost spiritual, sound. No wonder it is second only to that of the nightingale for inspiring poets and musicians.

It is a sound with which I was very familiar as a child but in adult life I have only heard it when attending motorsport or aviation events where large areas of grassland can be found. Sadly many people have never heard the liquid, continuous song of a male lark as he ascends, "sunshine translated into sound." Modern farming practices have reduced the number of skylarks alamingly. It has an RSPB red status. Lodge Farm must be doing something right.

Sadly no mad March hares about today. :(






Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.