CannyScot's Day

By CannyScot

Force of Nature

I have driven past this spot on the narrow country road we use 3 or 4 times a week, and only spotted this tree the other day. It looks extremely dangerous - the tree has demolished the dry stane dyke over the years and the roots are clearly exposed. Nothing stands in the way of nature. Quite why the tree was planted so near the wall I don't know. Of course, it is possible the tree was there first - but then why build the wall so close?

While I was taking the photo, a local guy stopped and asked if I was going to report it to the Council. Before I could tell him what I was doing he launched into a tirade about how many time he had been in touch with the Council and nothing had been done. He had sent photos to the local paper but this had still not achieved anything. We agreed that probably if it fell and hurt someone then they might do something about other nearby trees in the same condition. I shall have a close eye on it each time I drive by in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.