Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Spring is Coming

The last few days have been absolutely gorgeous. We reached the 70s Fahrenheit this week for the first time since maybe September. It's such a wonderful feeling. I had to take off my coat outside since it was so warm. It's so nice to have warm weather again. I've missed it so.

Arantxa, one of the English teachers I work with, let me go home early today since the last group was going to take a test. I caught an early bus home and when I arrived at Conde de Casal I saw my fellow auxiliar, Jess, walking in front. I caught up to her and we chatted for a while before deciding to go for coffee which turned into lunch. We went to this Galician seafood restaurant, which Belen has suggested to go to. It was really good. Our waitress was Filipina and I surprised her at the end of our meal by telling her salamat (thank you in Tagalog). She thought I was Indonesian or something. She was so happy I said salamat. She was super excited and was asking me what I was doing in Spain and of course where I was in the Philippines. She had even confirmed what some Spanish people say about Filipinos working in the kitchen. This waitress's husband works in the kitchen. Jess said something like, I made her day.

When my brother comes in April, I'm going to take him to that restaurant. Hopefully that Filipina waitress will be there.

About this shot-- roughly 7:30 pm in Retiro. Days are getting longer and the sun is setting later. Spring is coming!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.