Transitoire

By Transitoire

Floorball firsts

So this was my first tournament with Warwick Floorball that I could make, all the others being at times when I already had other things arranged. This is the first team, being whupped by United Cities (who won the Floorball League last year, and continue with their strong streak)...you can see how much pressure we're under in this photograph. As a hint, we're in blue.

The firsts ended up losing their two matches against United Cities 23-1, 24-2...so the matches that my team lost by only a few were put into perspective quite a bit! The teams that we were again had all been playing floorball for at least seven years...and playing together for at least two. Our team have all only been playing since October (I've only played since end of November!)...so the longest anyone has played is four months. The fact that we managed to hold our own against teams that were massively more experienced than us was great! The two people who were sent to the "sin bin" for various misdemeanours were Tim (for hitting someone in the face with a stick...accidentally of course!)...and me. Whoops! I managed to foil a goal, but lose my stick in the process, and then the other guy tried to start a fight with the referee. I only got two minutes, he got twelve. Since a match is fifteen minutes long, effectively sent off!

It was a really great day, and I hadn't thought I would get as involved as I did, but it was all fun...knackered afterwards! So of course the best course of action was to go to the pub for dinner. Cue all of my team, and half of the other two taking over the bottom end of The Jug and Jester in Leamington. Very fun day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.