Transitoire

By Transitoire

And so it begins...

This is election week...and this is what our Student's Union and Piazza look like until the goddamn things are over. Much cardboard.

I woke up this morning oblivious, then began to see the cardboard army littered around campus and heaved a sigh of oh-dear-lord-it's-here-again. Completely seriously, I'm not the best of voters. My choices go along the lines of:-
1.) I know them
2.) They haven't invited me to a Facebook event or page
3.) They haven't accosted me in the street when I'm in a rush
4.) I like their slogan
5.) They're handsome/beautiful

So, for me, all this cardboard is useless.


Nevertheless, the Sabbatical Officers are very important in the running of the Student's Union, and I guess it is important that they get it right. All I can say on the matter is that my friends won, so I guess that that is a good thing! The results were as follows:-

Total turnout: 5554

- President: Cat Turhan
- Education Officer: Maahwish Mirza
- Postgraduate Officer: Andrew Thompson
- Democracy and Development Officer: Rob Ankcorn
- Welfare and Campaigns Officer: Bebe Husakova
- Sports Officer: Ruby Compton-Davies
- Societies Officer: Isaac Leigh

Winners of part time roles:-

- Ethnic Minorities Officer: Cindy Asokan
- LGBTUA+ Officer: Luke Dyson
- Women's Officer: Josie Throup
- Disabled Students' Officer: Jenny Wheeler
- Environment and Ethics Officer: Dan Goss
- Undergraduate Arts representative: Rosie Hiscock
- Undergraduate Physics and Formal Sciences Representative: Michael Hobson
- Undergraduate Engineering and Experimental Sciences Representative: Lai Kay Man
- Undergratuate Social Sciences Representative: Miguel Costa Matos

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.