Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rest In Peace

My father-in-law passed away at the age of 87 yesterday afternoon. And although his death was not totally unexpected, it still comes as a shock to us all. His passing was sudden and fast, and I believe he is resting in peace now.

He wasn't always an easy man. It was hard for him to show a soft side and he was not always quick to smile. But he left behind a family who loved him very much, in spite of, or maybe because of his flaws.

Everyone copes with loss in their own way. My way is to reflect on the happier times - to remind myself of the things about the person that made me laugh, the things that made them human. So, when Hubs and I sat last night and talked and looked at photos, this one caught me.

This was taken at our wedding in September of 2000. We had just arrived at the reception, where my FIL and the rest of the wedding party had been awaiting our arrival. In this photo, my FIL had just informed me that he'd had three (yes, THREE) martinis and that he was feeling "very good." It was so uncharacteristic of him to drink more than a beer or two - which is why this photo is so memorable to me.

We are uncertain as to the arrangements, but we will be traveling to Alabama in the next few weeks for the service and to spend some time with the family.

And so my message today is the same as yesterday's ... hold those you love close. Life is short.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.