Liangge

By Liangge

When a 'fresher' meets a veteran at the BL

To be fair, I was really a 'lazy' PhD student who never visited the British Library during my research years! OU has looked us too well that everything (strictly academic resources) can be requested through inter-library loan for free. Many other universities also do, I suppose, but at the requester's cost.

So I never got a chance of going there on purpose, only passing by several times between Euston and King's Cross.

Now it's the opportunity and thanks to a veteran BL card holder who volunteered to show me around a bit, with particular recommendation of the smoked glass inner tower which protects old and fragile books (only for display). One looks really great and knowledgeable beside it, whether eating or drinking. ;-)

There was a St. George's exhibition but I didn't have time to explore. Couldn't recall any 'old' memory of that period and the figure.

Busy and great day in London!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.