Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Portrait Of A Costa's Hummingbird

I believe this is pretty good in-flight side view of my "pet" Zippy, the male Costa's hummingbird who has territorially adopted the feeder in my backyard as his own since the day I put it up last September.

I could say a lot about him and hummingbirds in general but I want you to concentrate on this species and what makes it especially unique. Look at it's tail...or lack thereof. Now compare it with the Anna's hummingbird from a couple of days ago.

See what I mean? It's almost as if he can't wear a pair of pants! These comparisons are best noticed in flight.

When the Zip is sitting down, as Yogi the Bear might say (use your imagination),"He looks like your av-er-age hum-ming-bird, Boo Boo!!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.