"Let Others Tell Of Storms And Showers ....

I'll only count your sunny hours."

We took the Volvo for service to Bishops Stortford this morning and as we drove slowly in heavy traffic down Dunmow Road I saw a rusty piece of metal, which I thought might be a sundial, on the eaves of a private house.

When we returned to pick the car up this afternoon the sun had just come out. It is indeed a sundial and the rhyme above is cut into the brickwork. I didn't notice when I took the pic that the wall is decorated with pieces of broken green glass. This form of decoration was quite popular in the nineteenth century and it seems that people then were as preoccupied with the weather as we are today.

Celia Walden wrote in the paper today about how sudden sun like we had last Sunday illuminates all the best things about Britain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.