Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Ciao Thyme, Ciao Bella!

This evening, I treated myself my son to his belated birthday gift: a cooking class at Ciao Thyme, in Bellingham. Tonight's theme: A Taste of the Greek Islands, led by Lisa Samuel, just returned from a visit to Greece.

Before I go any further, I must admit that the most delightful aspect of this evening was that upon setting foot into the main kitchen and dining area, who should I see chatting away at a table than my dear friend and blipfoto instigator, Cynthia! And as if that wasn't enough of a delight, my son and I were, through sheer serendipity, seated directly across from Cynthia. (seating is assigned) Perfect.

I had never attended a Ciao Thyme cooking class before, but I will certainly return. What a fantastic concept. The entire evening was perfectly orchestrated and very well thought out, and family style seating is truly the way meals were meant to be enjoyed.

And enjoy the meal I did --- we learned about phyllo dough, and a secret to making it thin, yet strong and resilient, we learned about Greek Risotto, and melt-in-your-mouth-tender lamb, and baklava, and fennel, and how to make creamy fresh ricotta cheese. And of course, olive oil. It seems gallons of the best stuff are required to do Greek cooking right.

All in all, a very satisfying evening in so many ways!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.