SO MUCH TO PHOTOGRAPH,

a man on a bike shouted to me , when he saw me standing at the shore of the big pond in the Zuiderpark, camera in hand, looking for the right angle to take a picture.
And it sure was! After lunch my decision had been made, I would cycle to the Zuiderpark and my subject, perhaps, would be blossoms, pink for instance, or daffodils, seas of daffodils.
When I arrived there and had entered the park, I heard the terrible shouting of Nile geese, some stood at the shore, but a lot were hidden in the bushes growing on a small island.
But after taking pictures of white and coloured geese I walked a bit around and saw a heron landing at the top of a tree. To my surprise I discovered that I stood amidst a whole area with pine trees in which so many nests were build by the herons. I slowly began to realize that the herons were really busy to fly around, some brought twigs to their nests, others landed at the highest branches and chased others away. A world I had entered that made me a bit dizzy, perhaps a lot, and made me take pictures of those amazing creatures flying above my head, landing again, making rather loud noises.
I felt enchanted, how and why had I become part of their world this afternoon?
Better take pictures, try to catch the magic I felt.
I stood in that part of the park, the arboretum, that tries to imitate the sceneries of the continents. Where I stood it was a landscape of dunes. Not very big, but recognizable. A lot of sand under the trees, the pines, the herons.
Do not leave the paths!, the young man of the maintenance of the park shouted to me. Surprised I looked around me. What a strange thing to say, he smiled and said: just kidding!!!
When I cycled back home a cold chill from the sea came towards me and envelopped me. A bit of a change after the soft warm sun shining. A kind of a mist, great opportunity for pictures, if there is some mystery around.

My haiku:

The heron that stands
For ages still at the shore
Is frantic in springtime

And the proverb:

Hij/Zij moet wonder kluchtig zijn, die de vliegen doet lachen.

Translation: He/She has to be marvellously farcial, who makes the flies laughing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.