WorldLens

By worldlens

Don't Be Fooled!

Don't be fooled by N's long sleeves and hood. A cold front hasn't moved into Thailand. N just doesn't want her skin to get darker during our time on the farm. She said herself that it's very hot, but when I suggested she take off her sweater, she said she would persevere for the sake of light skin. No matter how many times I try to tell my Asian friends that their tan skin is beautiful, they always say lighter is better.

We wanted to pick some papayas to take back to Bangkok, some still green for papaya salad, and some ripe for snacking on. We rode in the back of the truck to the papaya grove, N with her layers and me wondering if I could take off any more layers without being indecent.

On a side note, anyone know if a group of papaya trees is a grove or an orchard or something else?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.