Broken?

So I ran the Mighty Deerstalker in Traquair tonight. Well I say, ran...in reality it wasn't that impressive. After 7.67 miles by the Garmin, I was rescued by Mountain Rescue and taken down the hill in an ambulance. I had 3 miles to go and I knew I wasn't going to be able to finish. It's the first race I've ran and not been able to finish and I feel miserable.

About a month ago, I had an accident with my right foot - I hurt the bridge of it. I thought I'd just jarred it, it hurt every time I went for a long run, but I didn't think it was that bad. I now think it is rather bad. Tonight was supposed to be a 10k, so I thought I'd be fine. It turned out to be a horrendous 10 miles.

Within a mile I'd lost a shoe and twisted my ankle. By 5 miles I'd taken a bad fall, twisted both ankles numerous times and the bridge of my right foot was in agony. We plunged through about 100 metes of river and it felt ok - clearly just numbed from the cold though.

I started up the next hill and knew I couldn't carry on, I found a Marshall and asked him how to get off the hill. He told me to carry on to the next checkpoint and mountain rescue would help me there. He failed to mention the next checkpoint was at the top of a mile long, vertical scree hill. I don't know how I made it up that hill, but there was a lot of pain, crying and help from other runners.

At the top, Steven, a wonderful Marshall helped me. I don't know what I'd have done without him. He phoned Mountain Rescue, gave me his coat and walked/carried me the mile back down the hill. I may be over-emotional, but I reckon I owe that man my life! I could never have gotten back down on my own.

Bryan and Carl were my trusty ambulance men and this is Angie examining and strapping up my foot. I was out on the hills in the Scottish Borders for 3 hours. I'm now not sure when I'll be able to run again. I've been advised to seek medical help, but I won't be going to A&E on a Saturday night, so to the doctors next week I think!

I absolutely made the right decision not to run last year before the marathon. And one thing I know for sure is that I'll never do that again. It felt dangerous.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.