Life, Universe & Not Much

By micro43

It's a bad workman who blames his tools ... BUT ..

It has taken almost 6 months to get another battery for my Samsung Galaxy NX camera (they are not available ANYWHERE, unless you pay the price of a second camera), but after I tackled Samsung at the Photography Show recently they sent me another battery (FOC, so thanks for that)! So I can now use the camera (originally RAW shots would hang the camera for a TIMED four minutes randomly, and that is just single shots, not bursts), but I have to say that apart from cameras I bought long ago that were faulty, this is the worst camera I have ever tried to use. The user controls are appalling, and towards the end of today's shoot I found myself in a mode that I neither wanted, nor could I understand how I had activated it, nor how to exit from it! On top of that, despite what others may say, I found even medium ISO performance was disappointing (ISO 800), the autofocus was not to be relied upon, and the exposure was often totally wrong, for no apparent reason. Oh, and add to that the quality of the 18-200 lens left a lot to be desired - unacceptable blurring not all that far from the centre of the frame, even at what should have been the best aperture (c 2 stops down from wide open). I left the Nikon V1 in the car, but I'm sure I would have got much better images with that camera, despite its flawed UI, and small sensor, if I had used that instead. If I had used the Fuji X-T1, Olympus OMD-E-1 (or just about ANY Olympus or a Panasonic), I would not only have really enjoyed the day, but would have got much better images. I have to rate the Samsung as a VERY expensive mistake, and I very much doubt that I will ever try to use it again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.