Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Excitement at ping pong

JR not well today, so a day in bed was called for. I think we got too cold yesterday while out and about in our jackets, not coats.

A man appeared at the door. He looked unhappy. He was unhappy.

‘Have you seen my cat?’

He had a poster of a lovely Burmese Tonkinese puss who answers to Lily. I assured him I hadn’t seen such a cat in the back garden, but he wanted to come and check for himself. As he followed me through the house, he may well have checked the sofa too, just in case I had persuaded Lily to make herself at home.

He went straight to the lawn mower shed and tapped it, calling for Lily.

No answer.

I assured him there was no cat in there - I’d been using it yesterday - but we opened it up and he checked inside. I think I’d be like that too if I lost my cat. A cat could easily get stuck in a shed… I do hope he finds Lily.

Went to my ping pong, running a bit late, as I always like to check out the pond for a while first. In my haste, I got on the wrong bus and went via Princes Street. This was the only photo I took today, so it will have to do.

There was much excitement today as a young man joined our merry band. He was definitely under 50 and probably under 40! So good to have someone who can remember the score, actually. And he remembered names too. And he’s a handy man. I think he’ll get a few jobs with us. I have a few jobs needing done, but I rang a handy man this morning to do the front door, so I’ll see how he goes. He’s a Kiwi, so I know he’ll be good.

Beryl (not her real name) was saying how she thought Mary (not her real name) was out of order telling me the other day - mid game - that my serve was illegal and insisting I change it there and then. She said hers (Beryl’s) was illegal too. She has a fantastic serve that whizzes low over the net and invariably touches the back white line, so you have to stand well back.

A mis-spent youth, obviously, perfecting that serve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.