Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Activity Sunday

After yesterday’s laziness, I had a day of activity, mostly. Usually a Sunday morning is spent in front of TV, in my jammies, with my breakfast, endless coffees and the papers on my iPad. This can last for hours! But today we were up early, and out across the Links for breakfast. I had my heart set on French toast and bacon, but they didn’t do that, so I had a humungous scone instead, while JR was very happy with a humungous Eggs Benedict.

I was happy because when I sat down - tables squashed close together - near a girl fiddling on her AppleMac, because down in between the tables in the darkness, I noticed a lovely gorgeous beautiful chocolate brown Labrador, Molly. No collar, but sitting waiting patiently for her mistress. She (Molly) was delighted to find a new dog lover sitting beside her, and spent quite a bit of her time sticking her nose under my arm for another pat, because her mistress was too busy. No problem.

I suggested a roundabout wander home, as JR decided not to go to see Gravity in the afternoon. We looked in people’s gardens, passed the duck pond, and I wished I had put my duffel coat on and not just a jacket. I was fair puggled.

But a nice day tempted me to get out the brand new lawn mower in the communal shed and give it a go. It’s a light-as-a-feather electric mower. Press a button and you’re off. It was terrific. I have horror stories of three hour sweat drenched weekly sessions of starting mowers and lawn paddock mowing of a three quarter acre property in NZ. This was a breeze. It took about five ten minutes.

So I deserved a gin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.