Harvester

A Ponsse for the technically interested but I don't know which model. We are still waiting for the promised caterpillar track equipped harvester to remove the trees near the house. I thought most work would have stopped in the forest but it's still going ahead. Perhaps it has something to do with the very high price of wood at the moment.

Went for a new walk with the dogs as I had to go to Sontheim to get some documents for the UK signed/witnessed. One form was relatively easy, was in both English and German and just required my GP to witness my signature (no charge). This UK Govt. form has nothing whatsoever to do with health and the statements I made don't need to be checked. Why my signature needs to be witnessed is a mystery, let alone why from a GP. However I must say compliments to the way the English & German Pension Depts. work together and the UK issuing such forms in different languages. The Newcastle telephone help line even offers to conduct calls in German. One of the benefits of the EU. (For all those UKIP voters, don't think you are the only one's not happy with the EU but surely it's better to work from within for change rather than get out).

The other form from the UK required a copy of my passport and bank statement to be certified as true copies and that the mug in the passport photo was really me. all in English but luckily the girls in the parish council offices were great and got to grips with the 16 pages and did a great job. Cost 5 Euros incl. the two photocopies.

I once made the mistake of going to a notary who knew me well having done quite a bit for Angie & I. He witnessed the signature n 2.5 seconds and then a few days later a bound deed and an invoice for 300 Euros! Then found out notaries are required by law to take out an insurance for each document they sign (in case they make a mistake) and the insurance charge is based on the value mentioned in the document - I was acting as one of the executors of a will and was only a very small recipient of the total will value!

When I first came to Germany I thought it was a land of bureaucracy. Now know that it's probably less than in many countries but the difference is the Germans like to have rules and order and they will then follow these to the letter. Combine this with strong leadership and one can better understand how they tick. The Bavarians like to think they are more "relaxed" than the northerners but the Prussian rules are followed here just as closely as Berlin or Hamburg, such as when you are allowed to take a bath at night, no lawnmowing at lunchtime or car washing on Sundays.

I suspect that if I had the same forms to complete in Germany, neither would have required a 3rd party involvement.

Now off to enjoy more sun and 20°C although first job is to get tractor front wheel out of hole it fell in to in the stables - wooden inspection cover over the cellar broke as I drove over it last night after working late. Need to work with several car jacks to get it out.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.