Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Neat

Wow - BIG SURPRISE. Yesterday's blip hit Spotlight!!! First time for a non-birth blipday pic for me; in fact I was really surprised as it had been viewed less than 20 times, had around 8 comments and 2 favs!! There you go. Spotlight continues to baffle.

So today's title is not just about the way the cars in the "free" car park are neatly lined up, it is also about me hitting Spotlight. Seriously though, this car park needs some explaining.

I work in the Dubai World Trade Centre building - Dubai's first real sky scraper and the tallest building in the Middle East until around 1995 or whenever the Burj Al Arab was built. It is part of a large exhibition complex. This is one of 3 free public car parks. It is also the one used by people who work in the building. For the most part, the regular users know how to place their vehicles so it's all good for everyone. However during an exhibition when outsiders come and use it - it is absolute mayhem! I have heard stories of my colleagues waiting 3 hours just to get out of this car park during one of the biggest exhibitions. The last time I was on a course, in order to get back to the office for 4pm, I had to drive my car home and take a taxi back. True story. Why there isn't something better provided for the hundreds of people who work in the building - I will never know. AND because it is not paved; it gets really mucky when it rains!

And G made roast chicken with trimmings for dinner tonight - so I have had a really super day! :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.