Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Cabalie Roman Wine

I haven't been well the last couple of days, with severe food poisoning, hence this 'lazy' blip foto.

There is a story behind it, though.

For many years I ordered a lot of wine through The Sunday Times Wine Club, but their delivery prices went up as well as their wine. Last week, a small pamphlet arrived by post from The S.T. Wine Club advertising free delivery and £40 off the cost of 12 bottles, and with an early order, two large crystal wine glasses.

Our favourite wine has always been this Cabalie which is very strong and fruity and made the way the Romans made their wine. The offer was too good to miss so I was on the blower and put in my order.

On Monday 17th, the doorbell went about 8.30am. My wife was downstairs making a cuppa and sorted it, before coming back to bed.

About 10.30am, I decided to get up and lounge around the house, feeling weak and feeble. I happened to look out of the bedroom window and saw a wine case on top of the wheelie bin. I could also hear the Rubbish Collection vehicle coming along the street.

Thinking my wife had not taken our wine in, I dashed downstairs in my underpants and 't'-shirt to get the box. In the hallway, I could see my wife had obviously taken ours in. I went outside, thinking it might be an empty box but to my surprise it was a case of 12 bottles. 30 seconds later and the 'bin men' would have had it!

The delivery driver had sorted out his van, and put the box (presumably his next delivery) on the wheelie bin.......but driven off having forgotten it.

This case was from Laithwaites. I phoned them and told them the story. They would contact the driver and get him to pick it up later. Laithwaites are part of The S.T.wine club (as are others) and they passed on my good deed. They rung me later and would put a money off voucher in the post against my next delivery. I haven't seen Cabalie sold in any shops so it'll probably be towards another case!

The blip foto shows our favourite wine and the two free glasses.

I posted the story on my Facebook page yesterday and a few said they wouldn't have reported it. :( I know the delivery driver was well pleased as he'd have been held responsible as each case is electronically scanned at the depot and his responsibility until delivered.

After retiring from the services I was a self employed courier for 6 years and have done similar stupid things in the rush to get the round done. I'm only too pleased he won't get into trouble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.