Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Monmouth Medieval Bridge

I'm still not feeling well but really fancied getting out for a few hours, especially as it was my wife's day off.

We very often walk around the Wye Valley and end up at Monmouth Town (recently recognised as one of the best places in the UK to live) to look around the lovely shops and have a cuppa.

We donned walking boots and did a short walk across fields around the town. At not even two miles I was feeling whacked. I normally run this without any problems......those sickie bugs can certainly knock you!

After having a glass of lemonade in Wetherspoons, it was back to the car via The Old Medieval Bridge, where I captured this image. Shooting into the sun isn't normally a good idea (without filters) but I just fancied it. It's got lens flare, but I really like it and hope you do, too.

Without boring you, here's a quick history of Monmouth and this bridge..

The town was the site of a small Roman fort, Blestium, and became established after the Normans built a castle here after 1067. Its mediaeval stone gated bridge is the only one of its type remaining in Britain. The castle later came into the possession of the House of Lancaster, and was the birthplace of King Henry V in 1387. In 1536, it became the county town of Monmouthshire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.