carliewired

By carliewired

Celebration of Fine Art - Part 2

A second visit
yielded only photos as
the display ends soon

~ carliewired

We made our second trip to the big white tents in Scottsdale to see the other half of the exhibits we missed in February. This opened in mid January and will close by the weekend. I think it may be a long stay for many of these artists set up here in a rather make-shift location. Some of the artists (sculptors, painters, mixed media, jewellry-makers...) do reside in Arizona, but many are from other states. I learned today that each artist has their work juried each year in order to be included in these 100 spots. There is no guarantee that one will return the following year.

The work and work place of Graydon Foulger, Utah, was featured in the welcome page of the exhibit handout. I had a lovely chat with him in February when his fabulous iris still life drew me down the aisle to his location. He paints in oils with large brushes and canvas. His colour range is amazing. There seems to be no end to his interests - landscape, seascapes, florals....He was very modest about his achievements but passionate about his interest.

I came back to his spot today, hoping for further conversation, but he was not present today. Another artist saw me snooping around his paintings, getting close-up views with my reading glasses. (I like to look at the brush strokes and see what colours bump up against what other colours.) She came over to say that Mr. Foulger would return later today. I asked if I could have a photo of his work space. She laughed and said he wouldn't mind at all. So, here it is. Note the accumulation on the palette. (That made me laugh.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.