carliewired

By carliewired

Chihuly in the Garden

With breaths from the mouth
colour is imported to
the desert landscape

~ carliewired

Dale Chihuly, began his artistic career as a glass blower. Today, he and a dedicated team create blown glass masterpieces that are installed in public venues. This is the second show in the Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, Arizona. It would be an understatement to say that I am one of his fans.

Of course, I had to pick the hottest day so far this year to make my visit to the garden. I purchased the tickets online some weeks ago. D is the brave one to drive into the heart of Phoenix. We used the GPS this time. It only failed once, just before the parking lot.

I hadn't factored in the beginning of spring break either. The venue was busy, but we managed to get through the whole exhibit plus gift shop in 2 hours. Then we reconvened to the closest restaurant for a late lunch and large lemonades.

One of the many glass pieces for sale in the gift shop is in this collage. This one is named 'Brandywine Macchia'. Its pricetag reads '$7,100'. I settled for postcards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.