The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Happy Birthday Mum (2014)

The now traditional Mum's birthday blip!

The 2013 blip is here ...

The 2012 blip is here ...

For the first time in 20 odd years I was there to give mum her card and present at breakfast time. We had bought her a new posh handbag and some strawberry truffles. I think she was dead chuffed with them.

We would have loved to have stayed longer, but someone needs to oil the wheels of the local economy around here, and that is us! Besides I had man coming to put guttering up ...

And there the fun begun!

After the saga so far which I related in yesterdays blip you wouldn't have thought things could have got worse. They did ...

Roofers turned up at midday to take down and replace the guttering on the top of the house. Why they hadn't done this on Friday is a mystery, but I am not dealing with them direct. I left them too it as I was working.

I could hear them bashing and banging outside. At about half one I went for my lunch. As I walked out on to the landing they were just leaving, and waved from the back gate. A bit odd to leave without saying they had finished I thought. I mean if I hadn't walked out at that moment they would have gone and I would have missed them. I went out in the garden to have a look. It all looked nice and shiny and new. I noticed how close the satellite dish was to the new guttering. I went back into the house and straight to the TV ... I knew what the screen would be saying before I switched it on ... "No Satellite Signal Being Received - Please Switch Off Your Sky Box For Five Minutes And Try Again." With a rising sense of anger I did so ... and the message appeared immediately. I couldn't believe it! Was this some kind of vendetta!

I ring the roofers and tell him what's happened. He said don't worry I will send them back to realign the dish. It was still bloody annoying, but okay these things happen. Five minutes later he rings me again. He tells me that one of the boys had leant on the dish and the arm had snapped as it was rusted through ....

I was livid!

Did they not think I would notice my Sky not working and not connect the fact they had been working next to the dish?

But more to the point why the bloody hell did they not tell me before they sneaked off! There was no apology just a "I know! I know!". He said he would sort it out. In fairness he got a Sky repair man to our house with his roofer in an hour or so. The roofer had a strop with me!!! You really couldn't make this up! I left them too it again. I had to answer an email, when I went back downstairs they had gone again! Once again without saying all done or an apology! My flabber was well and truly ghasted!

It took me all the rest of the afternoon to calm down. I did think it was rather funny that the toilet not working for four days had far less of an effect on me than the Sky being off for an hour!

We went out down to the Dynevor for a meal for mums birthday. We laughed about it then!

What a few days it has been! Can I have some normality tomorrow please!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.